• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Landmines in Ont.

herseyjh

Inactive
Reaction score
http://cnews.canoe.ca/CNEWS/Canada/2007/08/05/4394957-sun.html

Surprised to read about this.  From the picture I am trying to work out what type of mine it is.

According to the article the mines were 7 cm thick and 25 cm across. That would make it an anti-tank mine. 

I saw that on CTV last night, pretty scary. I wonder how they got there.

herseyjh said:
http://cnews.canoe.ca/CNEWS/Canada/2007/08/05/4394957-sun.html

Surprised to read about this.  From the picture I am trying to work out what type of mine it is.

I'm no expert but from the picture it looks like maybe an M6A2 or M15?  My first impression was that it looked like a training mine, you know, no real defining features.  Any thoughts?

Looks more like an old British Mk 7 A/Tk mine to my failing eyes and fading memory.

Kat Stevens said:
Looks more like an old British Mk 7 A/Tk mine to my failing eyes and fading memory.

I would agree with you there......

CDN Aviator said:
I would agree with you there......

About the eyes and memory, or the mine?  ;D

It can't be a mine; we outlawed mines. (Hangun banners take note.)

Sarcasm meter off.

PMed said:
I'm no expert but from the picture it looks like maybe an M6A2 or M15?  My first impression was that it looked like a training mine, you know, no real defining features.  Any thoughts?

If I remember correctly from my basic training many moons ago, practice mines were painted blue and had holes through them.