• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

NCI Op

Danno1

Inactive
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I was offered an NCI Op position, my third choice, my first was Comms Research. I didn't know this when choosing the trades, but I later found out that Comms Research had the highest cut-off requirements, and NCI Op among the lowest, in terms of academics, CFAT, and interview scores. There is only one spot left for Comms Research, and no set selection date, so it's a big gamble to note take this offer.

My interviewer was a MARS Officer, and he's been very helpful, and I would appreciate input from the board as well.

For an inquisitive person, can NCI Op offer intellectual challenges? I have a business degree but am not currently interested in Officer roles, so I chose the most difficult NCM trade, figuring it would be a challenging and stimulating environment.

From what I've read here and at the Forces site, it seems NCI is repetitive and somewhat of a dead end. I would gladly pay my dues with menial and tedious labour as everyone does, but hopefully with the opportunity to prove myself worthy of greater responsibilities. 

Are NCI Ops generally respectable recruits, and can one find meaningful challenges and advancement opportunities in this role?

I have the weekend to mull this over  :-\

Though I can provide no specific insight to the "intellectual" opportunities of being an NCI Op, the overall tone of your post triggered an irresistible urge to weigh in with a decidedly dated and possibly singular to me opinion.

Jaysus, you're full of yourself!