• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

"Is this the best I can do?"

Chrispi

Inactive
Reaction score
Hello,

Currently, I sit here writing this post from my mid-town Toronto office.  The company that employees me has done so for the past 10 years, and like most days, I sit here wondering "Is this the best I can do?"  Overall, I am not totally unhappy with my job, heck, I've been doing it for 10 years!  I make 50K a year, I have a house, a car, and I'm liked in the workplace.  That being said, even with +15 years experience in my field (Investigations, Audit and Security) I'm well down the office totem-pole as several people in my dept. have 15+ experience with this company alone.  My opportunities for upward mobility are limited, and really, I can't see myself doing this for another 10 years waiting for my boss to retire.

I've yet to visit a recruitment office, although I've looked over the Canadian Forces website, spoken with friends, family, and all have been helpful, and supportive.

My questions, are vast and numerous, but most importantly, I ask about the potential changes to my family and career path.  My wife and I are both in our young 30's, no kids (or desire for them), and have no commitments that require us to be in Toronto other than employment and our home.  Is it possible to be a member of the Canadian Forces and still have a family here in Toronto, or if I joined, would it be assumed that my wife and I would be re-locating?