• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Girlfriend of New Recruit

daisiedupp

Inactive
Reaction score
Well, this one is a complicated situation. I am a university student with HUGE ambitions. I'm doing a double major and an honours degree currently in the hopes of becoming a lawyer. Anyways. My livein bf and I had talked about the army because it had been a dream of his since he was 10 years old. He has lived and breathed this life hoping to one day take part. He had been rejected for 4 years because of medical problems which are now not an issue. We are madly inlove and committed to eachother. We had discussed the possibility of reserves or reg force, and he had chosen reserves in order to stay with me for the period of time I was in school. We went through a rough patch and he thought I was ending it, so, knowing he could not stay here, he switched it to reg force, then not breaking up and only getting stronger he realized he had made a mistake. After trying to switch back and then getting accepted while in that process, he was told all or nothing basically. I could never ask him not to do the army at all, so it was up to me to compromise.

It's especially hard because both of us thought we would be together and not have to move for a long while, but this is almost out of his control unless he gives up on it entirely which I won't let him do. So, we have a few weeks more together and then that's it for several months. It hurts, and it's going to be hard and there are alot of feelings, because it is still being digested. But, we decided that I will finish my degree (which I am almost done anyways) in a creative manner and I will move with him on base when he is done training and posted.