• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

DUI - Effects on Joining?

• Thread starter IanLookingForInfo
  • Start date
I

IanLookingForInfo

I am new to the whole thing, have not even joined basic trainning yet, but need to know about things first. I was recently charged with a DUI(driving under the influence) . This was the worst thing that could happen cause now I have to wait another 6 months to join, so I was told. That is not my major problem. I have been looking into the JTF for some time now and really want to get into it. Now I know that you can't join if you have files for bankrupcy so what I want to know is a DUI charge going to eliminate my chances of getting in or not. Thank you in advance for any info.  :)

As far as your DUI goes, If after keeping your nose clean for a few years you will be able to apply for a pardon. I am not sure how long you will have to wait but I would presume your legal counsel would know. Unless things have changed you can not just join JTF2 . You will have to serve in a unit and apply.

I am going to be dropping off my application for the infantry and I was wondering if the fact that I have a criminal record will keep me from being accepted. I was charged with a DUI and driving while suspended. It was about two years ago and I‘ve been to jail and served my time. It is a thing of the past and I don‘t want it to get in the way of my career choices. so will it ?

In a word, yes. Any kind of criminal history, especially one for which you went to prison would be a serious detrement to you joining the forces.