• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

wondering about comm res

kyrops

Inactive
Reaction score
Hi all, I'm a newbie here. I have a lot of interest in the Comm Reserves.  I will be moving to Edmonton later this year and I was thinking of signing up for Sig Op.  I have a few questions I hope you wouldn't mind answering?  First of all, how many days a month could I expect to work with this trade, and what normally would I be doing at my unit? (Field vs. static)  What would weekend training opportunities consist of?  How much infantry is involved?  Are there any openings for this trade?  Also any information regarding the trade work itself that anyone could share would be appreciated.  Thank you. :salute:[/color]

I am reg force but I can answer some of your questions.  The first thing you must do is complete basic training and basic trade qualification.  This will probably take up your first two years.  At this point you will be a qualified sig op and can start being employed as a an operator in a CP, RRB or other areas of the trade.  I will let someone else tell you how the reserves progress and work as I am too out of date to comment on that.

I'm currently a reservist sig op in Toronto, so I think I can be of some help with your questions.

how many days a month could I expect to work with this trade, and what normally would I be doing at my unit?
Usually one night a week, and 1-2 weekends a month, but it could be more depending on how busy your unit is.

What would weekend training opportunities consist of?  
There are all kinds of field ex's, usually either a unit ex where you practice your sig op skills or a support ex where you provide comms and man the CP (Command post) for another unit while they do their thing.

How much infantry is involved?