• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Unemployed during Recruiting

SK

Inactive
Reaction score
A quick rundown of my current situation,

I graduated University in April 09 and began looking for civy positions/volunteer opportunities with no luck.  In May '10, after long consideration, I put in my application with the CF and was merit listed in August '10.  I was told at the CFRC that I had an outside shot of being called to the next NOAB (applied for MARS) so I was not actively searching for employment to tie me over. 

However, in September '10 I was given the opportunity to interview for a volunteer position which I had been interested in since graduating University.  The volunteer position needed a 6 month commitment and since I had not been called to the NOAB, i figured i would have at least 6 months before I would be off to basic (that is if I am indeed hired, of course).  I didn't hear back for this volunteer opportunity until last week, and since I can't make the 6 month commitment as I'm hoping to receive an offer from the CF by then, I declined the position for the time being.  Now I know I am not guaranteed a position within the next 6 months, however with the new fiscal year falling into that window and the CF processing MARS applications now, I felt like I needed to roll the dice.