• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Supplements on BMQ (merged)

D

Drez

Im getting ready to send off to boot within a month, and Ive been training for almost 2 years to be ready for all this, and I wanted to know if supplements are allowed by the CF.

By supplements, Im sure that the extra vitamins I take like Vit C and those types are ok, but what about Protein supplements?

I juss bought a proteinpack supplement of natural soya protein, and Id like to know if anybody has any idea if its authorised or not? Or maybe somebody has a website detailing things similar that are accepted and not by the CF?

Thanks for the input people!

They sell Whey Protein and Carotein (spelling??) at the CANEX at St-Jean. So, yeh... I think it is okay. Just make sure u drink lots of water, don‘t want your kidneys to fail on you.

DND has recently, however, promulgated a warning against the use of ephedrine based products for weight loss because of their potential health risks. (Note the many alternative names in the article.)
http://www.dnd.ca/menu/maple/vol_5/vol5_10/vol5_10p4-5.pdf

A related message was in the Personnel newsletter:
http://www.dnd.ca/hr/cfpn/engraph/06_02_warning_e.asp

I‘m not sure you really NEED to supplement your diet, as the food they give you on course is actually not too bad, and everything is available to you -- protein, carbs, vitamins, minerals, etc. It may not be cordon bleu dining, but it does the trick. On my course (BMQ) seconds are usually available, and breakfast sees plates of fresh fruit and juices, along with cereal and breads all laid out, along with the hot food.