• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Specialty Training

unJon

Inactive
Reaction score
Currently I am an AME-S, considering joining the forces as an ACS tech. I have several years experience, including experience with CC-130's and working with the CFTO manuals. I have an ACA (aircraft certification authority) through my company, along with a host of other training courses they've provided.

My question is this: With the experience I have, will I be able to go directly into one of the specialty trades after BMQ? NDT is the one I'm most interested in. I've asked a couple different recruiters this question, and neither of them seemed to know. Any insight on this would be most appreciated!

I dont think you could go direcly into a trade unless you have all the qualifications required to do that job, they might credit you some time so you can be promoted to Cpl early based on the qualifications you have that are directly related to the trade you chose. For example if you are a Machinist and want to be a ACS tech they may credit you a few months of time and that could mean you will be promoted to Cpl early and also get Spec pay early.

The only requirements I can find for specialty training is on the ACS job description sheet, which says, "Personnel who demonstrate the required ability and ambition can undertake advanced military occupational training......." So perhaps my best course would be to apply and sort it out with my interviewer.

What you read refers to courses that we can take once we are a ACS tech working at a unit, for example the special metals welding course, the advanced composite course or the advanced machining course.