• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Some questions on infantry tactics in Afghanistan

HGCAP

Inactive
Reaction score
Hello Army.ca

This is my first time posting here.  I'm curious about a couple of minor things I've seen on video and thought this would be the right place to ask. 

First, how important is spacing between individuals within a squad on patrol when contact is expected?  I've heard 10m between men is a desirable distance to maintain but in most media I see squads significantly more bunched up than that.  20m for an entire squad seems to be more close to the norm.  Is this accurate or am I getting the wrong impression?  I guessed that maybe Taliban/AQ indirect support was virtually non-existent, perhaps, and that is why spacing hasn't been stressed as much.  Does spacing play a significant role versus small arms or mostly just indirect high explosives?

Secondly, it seems like engagements are taking place outside 200m most of the time.  Does the enemy in Afghanistan avoid closer range ambushes?  They don't seem to be very effective fighters because their chosen engagement ranges are outside the effective range of the AK47.  Is this for any specific reason I might be missing?

Thanks very much for any help.

Spacing is a very difficult thing to explain.  There is no "textbook" set distance for how far apart people have to be.  There are alot of different factors that come into play; the type of terrain is one, if you are in a bold open field then you would be more spread out than in you were in a thick wooden field. If it is day or night, during night people are closer you can see each other for command and control reasons.