• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Reserve BMOQ?

Fencer_1983

Inactive
Reaction score
Hi I'm new!

I'm a student and have been going through the enrollment/application process the past few months.  I have passed the aptitude and medical tests, and have gone through a few interviews now.  To get to the point, I'm a bit confused at the duration of the training that I will undertake.  I have enrolled for Artillery Officer (Reserve) through the RESO entry plan.

Now I have spent some time searching and reading the FAQ's around here (and the official webpage) , but unfortunately the information I have gotten hasn't been satisfactory - in fact it has been contradictory at times.  From what I do understand, reservists do not go through the same training courses as regular forces.  Also, I have been told that my training will consist of two summers in Quebec and Gagetown.  Does the first summer consist of BMOQ, or whatever it is now being called?  What is the duration of that? 15 weeks?  Or is it a combined course with both Off. Cadets and NCOs? What will the 2nd summer be comprimised of then? CAP and artillery officer training?

If I could get some clarification as to the duration and content of the training over the summer months, that would be most greatly appreciated!  Thanks!

(My apologies if this has been covered somewhere.. I have searched rather exhaustively and not found a clear answer.)

Hello,

I can't answer all your questions (if I'm not totally sure about something, I prefer not to say anything). However, I talked with a cadet officer (from a Reserve unit) the other day and he told be that in the Reserves, BMOQ and BMQ are the same course, in the sense that OCdt are mixed with the NCM during basic training (which is NOT the case with the regular force). The duration of this training is about 20 days (instead of the 14 weeks for the Regs' BMOQ).