• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Questions about Army

G

gosho4

Hello

I am new to this forum and I am a grade 10 student in Toronto. I want to learn about Army Reserve:
What is Basic Training like
If I can upgrade from Army Reserve to Regular Army

Another thing:
If I join the Regular Canadian Army would I be able to volunteer for Peacekeeping missions? Or Do I have to get some experiance before I volunteer?

Sorry for any Spelling Mistakes or bad questions.

Thanx in Advance

Re: GD,

No bad questions there.
Recruit school lasts 10 weeks (unless changes to length recently). You‘ll learn the basics of soldiering. This means things like properly using and wearing of various kit, uniforms and hardware. You‘ll learn military law and how it applies to you. You‘ll be taught things like surviving in the field, hygiene both indoors and outdoors. You will do lots of drill with and without weapons in a group formation. Personal inspections of your dress and deportment, your sleeping quarters and group cleaning responsabilities are important but always remember that though your instructors cadre will be very concerned with the expected standard these only count for a small part of the overall mark required to graduate from recruit school. Keep your mouth shut, your kit clean and move everywhere fast. Never stop helping out your buddies. Keep you skin thick and don‘t take things too personnally.

Re: upgrading to regular force. I think that many reservists would say it‘s not really upgrading. But yes it can be done. We call them soldiers quick picks. They often get to skip much of the training in the regular force as they have done it already at their units. It‘s a good way to do it. Most regular force guys will judge you on your merits and not your past. But they will still raz you about it.