• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

physical fitness

J

jamesj

Hi there!
I am a 17 high school student just finishing up grade 11, and looking at joining the reserves. My question is as follows: I am not in the greatest shape, but could pass the test. Should I wait and lose some weight before I start the application process, or start the application process now (obviously continuing with the fitness program I've designed for myself)? How quickly could I be taking the the physical fitness test? I'd prefer to be able to do much better than the basic requirements. Thanks in advance,
JamesJ

No rush.

You won't be in quick enough to go for a summer course so just stick with it now, apply after the summer...That gives you the summer to get stronger and be more fit than you are now and improve your results for when you take the test.  But normally it takes about 2-3 months before you actually take your initial testing.

Out of curiosity what are you like now in term's of physical fitness. I take it that you can do the 19 pushups, situps, and 2.4 km run, but what would you like to improve specifically in term's of physical fitness.

Thanks for your replies. I would like to improve the number of pushups I can do, and I would like to improve my endurance. My goal is to be able to double the basic requirements. I have no problem at all with situps ( I can do at least 50, if not more). Is going from 2.4 km to being able to do 5 km in 4 months pretty feasible? Am I setting reasonable/realistic goals? Thanks,
JamesJ