• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Permanent resident - application process and PRESEC clearance

Duc Viet

Inactive
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm currently a permanent resident, studying at the University of Ottawa. I will be eligible to file my citizenship application in March 2014.
Given the fact that now it takes roughly about 23-26 months for an application to be approved, I will have to wait until April-May 2016 before I'm qualified to join the Canadian Forces.
I understand that because of my origin (Vietnam, if anyone is curious), I will be subjected to the PRESEC clearance, which will likely to take 1,5- 2 years to be processed. So, adding up with the waiting time for my citizenship, I will not be able to take my oath anytime before middle 2018, or even 2019 since I am destined to be an infantry soldier. (nothing superstitious here)

2019, 6 years from now......

For the last couple of days, I have been digging around the internet to find a way to "utilize" my waiting time. My idea is that if there is anyway to complete steps which does not require any prerequisite. By doing so, I can significantly reduce my waiting time. About, 5 hours ago, I found a post in our forum. It coincidentally mentions about a person who I assumed him to started some steps in the application BEFORE he received the citizenship.

MP_HOPEFUL said:
A friend of mine used me as a reference for the military and they called me over a year ago. However, he just received his Canadian citizenship and his background check is more extensive than most would be.
When my references were called, only 1 out of the 5 I gave was called. They called my boss, which wasn't a reference I gave lol.

It is a good sign that they are calling, it means your application is moving along :)