• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Military Essay - I Need help

Freerider

Inactive
Reaction score
Believe me I don't like this probably as much as all of you will. I am in my last year of highschool and in a university philosophy class. For my major essay my teacher asked if I would do the topic Authoritarianism in the Military. Its a pretty broad topic which I am almost thankful for. If anyone knows any information that may help me support my thesis that paraphrased basically is 'Soldiers who disobey a direct order than intern had a positive affect in community don't deserve to be punished for their actions' don't worry its not that poorly written. My teacher selected the topic and the point of view I had to take.

My sources must be recent and examples no earlier than 1939. I am looking at the Canadian Military specifically. Thanks for your time.

You may want to search on the term "illegal order" as a start to consider instances where a soldier is justified in disobeying an issued order.

Other aspects that come to mind that may need better definition to situate your thesis include:

- whose viewpoint is used to define "positive effect in community"?
- define that community (the military unit, the township or other jurisdiction within which the military operations take place, .... etc.)
- what would be the "acceptable" loss in unit cohesion/discipline/etc at the cost of an external "positve effect"; and who gets to decide that balance?

You teacher seems to have prejudged the case, without a clear understanding of the military social environment to start with.