• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Life of a Pilot: The Off-Duty Aspects

Gunshark

Inactive
Reaction score
Hello,

Long post. Appreciate reader dedication.

I’m a DEO pilot applicant, in the application process since July 2012. I’ve read several pilot-related threads on this wonderful forum already and I’m sure I will continue reading further. Admittedly, I haven’t read everything but the majority of info seems to be on the trade itself, from completing the application file to aircrew selection to pilot training to finally flying missions. There seems to be less info on how other areas of a pilot’s life are affected. I’m sorry if the questions I’m about to ask have been answered somewhere individually some time ago. But I figured it would be logical anyway to bring them together in one place, not to mention receive more up-to-date answers. I think it goes without saying that most people trying to get into this trade sleep and dream about flying missions. However, I believe how this line of work affects other aspects of a pilot’s life is equally important.

If the currently serving pilots, either fast jet, ME, or RW (or perhaps other Air Force trade members that live comparable lifestyles outside of work hours) on this site could please answer the following questions, myself and I’m sure others would be very thankful for the info and find it a useful part of their CF pilot career research. Thank you very much.