• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Licensed To Military.

kbird

Inactive
Reaction score
Hi,

My names Kris, I'm an apprentice only a few months away from being a licensed Aircraft Maintenance Engineer. My wife and I have decided that
were going to sign up with the Canadian forces. I have a couple questions and I'm hoping someone might have a few answers.
Was anyone on the forum here previously licensed before entering the military?
If I have 2 years apprenticing on Rotarywing aircraft like Jetrangers, MD 500, & Eurocopters can I expect to stay in that Field when i get in?
Whats maintenance like in the military? Who signs the aircraft off? Are their Logbooks? Does CARS Apply?
Ive already done 2 years of schooling for engineering in aviation and I was told that I could skip the schooling the military would have. Is that a good idea?
Do you sometimes have to "Bush it" or is everything strictly by the book?
I know i have alot of questions, Mainly I'm hoping to work on Seakings, Cyclones and eventually hopefully one day The Comerant.
Ill be signing up for basic training in Sep-Oct time period as long as things keep going the way they are.
And my family and I are looking forward to it. Thanks for taking the time to read this, and hopefully for the answers.

- Kris.

I'm no tech but I'll try to answer some of the questions

kbird said:
If I have 2 years apprenticing on Rotarywing aircraft like Jetrangers, MD 500, & Eurocopters can I expect to stay in that Field when i get in?

I think the military will put you where they need you.  They'll train you on a type.

kbird said:
Does CARS Apply?

No, we have our own rules and regulations.

kbird said:

As far as I've seen, maintenance is done by the book and no shortcuts are taken.

kbird said:
hopefully one day The Comerant.

If you join the millitary, you have zero chance of working as a maintainer on the CH-149 Cormorant.