• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Forced Element Transfer

LuvNavy

Inactive
Reaction score
Hi, I don't know if this qualifies as an OT related matter, but it was the closest subject I could find.

I enrolled in the military in Sept 07 and graduated in December. I graduated in Navy DEUs. I am now at Borden doing my QL3s as a Cook.  Recently, i was told by my course director that news just came from Ottawa that I am in the army. I am told I don't have a choice and need to switch over.

I guess my question is, is there anyway I can stay navy? I love everything about the navy, the uniform, the ships, the lingo. One of my BMQ instructors was a MasterSeamen and he made me really excited about a career in the navy. So many generations of my family have served in the navy. I just gave in my posting choices and they were Ships East Coast, Ships West Coast, Ships Anywhere and CFB Esquimalt. I'm worried not that my posting suggestions will be overlooked in the army.

Do I write a memo? Will that work? I know cook is a purple trade, and I can cook anywhere, but I really had my heart set on the navy, and I want to graduate from my 3s in a navy uniform.

Any advice will help, I was told a number of reasons why this was happening, but I'm still not sure. Like the army needed more cooks, but I was only one of two navy cooks on my course.

Thanks for your time, I know I'm a little all over the place.

As a Cook, you are a "purple trade" (same as Supply or RMS) which means that regardless of the DEU you wear may be required to serve in the Field, on Ship or on Air Force bases. The DEU itself makes little difference in these matters although they always state they try to match the DEU to the posting/element. This is of course only accomplsihed in the best scenario's and should not be relied upon towards any expectations.