• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Firearms training

Fencer_1983

Inactive
Reaction score
I have a question about rifle training.. going to the range.. etc. I've currently passed my medical/aptitude/interview and should be going to BMQ this summer as reserve OCdt.  As an officer I have read, or heard a lot of people saying that after your basic training and such, you do not get to practice your personal firearm skills much.  Marksmanship has always been an interest of mine although I have never fired a C7.. I have my firearms license and sometimes visit local ranges/gun clubs for the sheer sport of practicing.  I'm curious if I would be allowed to a) either get additional range time somehow if it didn't interfere with my standard duties, or b) if I would at all be allowed to get papers to allow me to transport my military rifle to a civilian gun range to practice on my own free time.

I'm just curious if this would be plausible or whether I'm just doing some overly wishful thinking.

Fencer_1983 said:
I have a question about rifle training.. going to the range.. etc. I've currently passed my medical/aptitude/interview and should be going to BMQ this summer as reserve OCdt. 

Excellent work, not everyone makes the cut...

Fencer_1983 said:
As an officer I have read, or heard a lot of people saying that after your basic training and such, you do not get to practice your personal firearm skills much. 

Not true.  A lot depends on what occupation you are in and what base you are at.  (i.e. some bases have ranges nearby so access to training is a bit easier.).  It is possible to get more training time if you try out for, or get onto, a rifle/marksmanship team.  However, 'personal' firearms practice time using your own weapons is seperate from military training time, and done on your own time. 

Fencer_1983 said: