• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

EOD Hazard Badge

Reaction score
Being a Police Explosives Technician, I have had to work/train with CF EOD Techs. Unfortunately, none have been able to tell me anything about the EOD Hazard Trade Badge. I would like to know what the design means and when was it registered with the office of Heraldry as it does have a crown surmounted in the badge. Any techs out there who can fill me in? Any information would be most appreciated.

See the attached link to view the badge:http://jfchalifoux.com/explosive_ordinance_destruction_gold_bullion_new_uniform.jpg

If I'm not mistaken (I don't think I am) That is the EOD badge awarded to Clearance Divers of the Canadian Forces.

Clearance Diver is the hardest diving qualification to achieve in the CF. It is long and intense, last time I talked to one of the CDs, he told me that the course is 10 months long and the EOD phase is another 6 months. Their pre-lim selection is 10 days of pure unadulterated HELL. The T.V. program Truth, Duty, Valour did an episode on them, just by watching it I felt their pain. The people who do this job are extremely dedicated to their craft and are a great bunch of guys (I say guys because I haven't met a female member yet, and to my limited knowledge I don't think there is one. Although a MS at my unit has just passed her Pre-Lim so hooo ah!) They do EOD the same way as the Air Force and Army Combat Engineers do it. They are deployed all over the place, and as recently as the sand box.

Did that sorta answer your question? I don't think there are any CDs on the site... I may be wrong, they have a tendency to pop up from nowhere.

MedTech said:
If I'm not mistaken (I don't think I am) That is the EOD badge awarded to Clearance Divers of the Canadian Forces.