• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Zombies, Run! Running app and zombie survial game

Jarnhamar

Army.ca Myth
Reaction score
If anyone is interested in using an intuitive running app that also doubles as a zombie survival game you should check out Zombies, Run! for the iphone and Android.

I've never used running apps before so this stuff could all be common dog for apps but I found this one was really well done.

The premise is that a zombie apocalypse has broken out and you are "Runner 5", some dude who was shot down in a helicopter on your way to a remote town and now you're one of the towns runners who is tasked to go out and collect supplies.

Turn your phones GPS (or motion sensor cogitator) on and start running.  The program logs how far you run, how long you run for, your pace and a few other things.  You can synchronize to a website and upload your runs with all the time/distance data but you can also turn on a function that lets you see (a la a google maps type set up) the path you actually ran overlayed a satellite image including where you hit each KM.  You can choose to share your time and distance and even maps of your routes with people you add to your network or just record it for yourself.

As you're running there is commentary by a half dozen or so actors playing various personalities from the township.  each run/mission has them expanding the story line a but with songs from your playlist playing in between.  You set missions to last 30 minutes or an hour, after the end of the mission you can continue to run with a "radio mode" enabled which is more random commentary with sound tracks mixed in. It sounds goofy but it's actually very well done.