• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

What do War Veterans Remember on Remembrance Day?

daftandbarmy

Army.ca Dinosaur
Reaction score
What do War Veterans Remember on Remembrance Day?

I am a war veteran.

Remembrance Day is just around the corner. Many people who are not war veterans wonder: what do war veterans remember on Remembrance Day? The answer may surprise you….

Remembrance Day is November 11th each year. On the 11th hour of the 11th month of the 11th day we are all invited to fall silent and remember. Before I was a war veteran myself, I always wondered what they remembered. Did they remember dead comrades and the enemies who killed them? Did they remember discomfort, fear, hunger, near misses, and victories and defeats both small and large? Just what were they thinking about, I wondered.

The Obvious Stuff

War is such a huge, traumatic and complex endeavor that it’s quite impossible for any one individual to grasp fully. Like victims of a car crash or bank robbery, or even a visit to Disneyland when it’s busy, following the event itself, everyone gives a different story about what happened. The only thing that you can reliably comment on relates to what happened to you, personally, and even then sometimes you can’t be too sure.