• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

USAF Proposes Single-Operator MQ-9 Cockpit

dimsum

Army.ca Myth
Mentor
Reaction score
The USAF now operates 60 continuous surveillance orbits with the MQ-9 and MQ-1 Predator, which requires a cadre of about 1,000 pilots and 1,000 sensor operators.

By redesigning the ground station for single-pilot operations, like the Lockheed Martin F-16, the air force could potentially reduce the manpower requirement by hundreds of sensor operators, Otto says.
- See more at: http://www.uasvision.com/2015/10/29/usaf-proposes-single-operator-mq-9-cockpit/#sthash.huQfPdSb.dpuf

http://www.uasvision.com/2015/10/29/usaf-proposes-single-operator-mq-9-cockpit/

I've no payload operator experience on a UAV, but I know how busy things can get for the operator once 'things start happening'.  I could see this perhaps working for routine surveillance, but maybe not so much in a dynamic environment.

I am curious to see the thoughts of this on here from people who have GCS seat time.

I can't see this happening in anything other than transit.  I have trouble seeing how one can use radios, Chat and maintain a camera as well as monitoring aircraft (if in orbit).

This, coming from someone with GCS seat time (in both seats).

Dimsum said:
I can't see this happening in anything other than transit.  I have trouble seeing how one can use radios, Chat and maintain a camera as well as monitoring aircraft (if in orbit).

I thought it seemed...busy...but my only GCS time was the guided tour.

Thinking back to the good ol days of your last posting?  Just think, now you are getting to enjoy a fine, fine day in the ditch!  >:D

Anybody sees the irony in trying to reduce the number of "pilots" you need to fly pilotless planes.  ;D

Dimsum said:

Guess what single seat attack pilots do?!

Oldgateboatdriver said: