• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Unacceptable Political Advertising: Liberals Attacking the CF

North Star

Reaction score
I saw a political ad today that I view as unacceptable to members of the CF. Far from being quiet, I've fired off the letter below to the major political parties and major news outlets.

To Whom It May Concern,

I have been a military officer for 11 years now, and as such have made numerous sacrifices for Canada. Until now, I always thought those in power had at the very least a degree of respect for those sacrifices as well as the high degree of professionalism my fellow soldiers and I demonstrate on a daily basis.

This evening, I saw an election advertisement by a political party that shattered this illusion. The advertisement, which critiques another’s promise to enhance a military presence in Canada’s large urban centres, implies that the Canadian Forces and its members would willingly consent to abuse the position of trust granted to it by the Canadian people. Nothing could be further from the truth.

Far from being an automaton with a gun, I am a thinking citizen of this country and would never consent to be a part of some kind of overthrow of Canadian democracy. I can say with full confidence that all of my peers feel the same way. To imply otherwise as did the advertisement in question is not only deeply insulting to me as someone who has contributed a great deal of their life to defend Canada, but to previous generations of Canadian who did the same.