• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Trench Warfare

S

Sydney

I am a highschool student doing a large project on Trench Warfafe. I am in need of information, I was wondering if anyone could tell me of any good books or websites for information on this topic. I also would like some excerpts from soldier‘s diaries who were actually in the trenches, to use as examples of the daily life of these brave men. I would appreciate replys a great deal. Thank you! And any of your own personal comments or knowledge on Trench Warfare would be much appreciated as well.

If you read any book, read VIMY by Pierre Berton.

The best book is by Desmond Morton called "When Your Number is Up". It is a social history of life in the trenches.

The Canadian War Museum website has an interactive story that lets you make decisions while reading a story about a soldier in World War One; there are multiple endings depending on the choices you make.

Gallant Canadians by Dan Dancocks is also good as is Welcome to Flanders Fields, also by him.

Thank you so much for you help Michael, it will help me a great deal in the completion of my project.

Depending on where you live, there might be a military or regimental museum nearby - with any luck, there might be some information or paraphenalia pertaining to trench warfare (e.g. some soldiers would whittle or make things out of shell casings).

In Toronto, the 48th Highlanders of Canada regimental museum is located on King Street, just West of University Avenue in the basement of the Regimental Church (just East of Roy Thomson Hall)

You might get some extra marks for seeking out additional information from these other sources (i.e. showing that you put in some extra effort and went the extra mile, as opposed to simply snorkelling the Net or visiting the library).