• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Transfers between Officers and ranking members

jaybe316

Inactive
Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm having some difficulties, and was wondering if anyone has any advice or document references for me.
I'm a reservist infantry officer, I started as an NCM 5 years ago, and made my transfer to the officers last year.
I realize now that even after finishing all of the required training, I hate my new job, and will continue to do so. I'd like to be an NCM again. Is there any reasonable way to achieve this? I was told by the recruiters that I'll either have to release, or do a trades change to some other part of the military. I want to be an infantry NCM again and I'd rather not release for x years (how many would it take?) just to return as a recruit.
Is there no way to essentially "voluntarily demote" myself?

jaybe316 said:
Hello all,

I'm having some difficulties, and was wondering if anyone has any advice or document references for me.
I'm a reservist infantry officer, I started as an NCM 5 years ago, and made my transfer to the officers last year.
I realize now that even after finishing all of the required training, I hate my new job, and will continue to do so. I'd like to be an NCM again. Is there any reasonable way to achieve this? I was told by the recruiters that I'll either have to release, or do a trades change to some other part of the military. I want to be an infantry NCM again and I'd rather not release for x years (how many would it take?) just to return as a recruit.
Is there no way to essentially "voluntarily demote" myself?

???

Have you become completely qualified as an Infantry officer and received a Commission?

Are you doing a Component Transfer?  I am sure that if you are, you can "resign" your commission. 

George Wallace said:
???