• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Six Pers Recce AFV Crews (Split from CCV thread)

dogger1936

Inactive
Reaction score
SherH2A said:
Lets not forget these are IFVs so there is room for additional troops in them. I could see the recce vehicles having 6 man crews to allow for 24 / 7  operations

Why do we require 6 man crews to allow 24/7 operations. My past decade we've been doing it with 4.....you mean to tell me we only had to be in the mud OP until 20h00?

Because everyone needs some downtime to maintain their effeciency. I know anytime I've gone over 48 hours straight in my civilian jobs, I've had to do half of it over again after I've had some sleep. I used to work as a programmer/analyst, project team leader and we had some tight deadlines, so sometimes to meet the deadlines we just kept plugging away and testing non stop for up to 72 hours at a time. I know the quality of my decisions went down after I had worked 48 or more hours without at least 4 hours of sleep.

I also, afterwards, noticed the quality of my team mates work also detoriated and we wanted to do a lot of rewriting, but we met the deadlines.

I suspect this is not an uncommon situation.

As for the 24/7 concept, I was thinking of job changeover i.e. having 3 teams of 2 individuals each, these individuals would be able to fulfill any crew members responsibility. They would be on for 8 hours each but would change responsibilities after 4 hours if the tactical position allows ie Driver A exchanges with loader B while crew commander A exchanges with sensor operator B while team C tries to get some rest, not the easiest thing to do in a vehicule.

dogger1936 said:
Why do we require 6 man crews to allow 24/7 operations. My past decade we've been doing it with 4.....you mean to tell me we only had to be in the mud OP until 20h00?

I agree.  Been there and done that.

SherH2A said: