• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Segregation in Messes

Lumber

Army.ca Veteran
Donor
Reaction score
So, this will be more of a comment then a question, but maybe it will generate some lively discussion.

CFB Esquimalt, as a cost saving measure, shutdown the cafeteria at the Chief and PO's mess and combined it with that of the wardroom. Fine by me! Do whatever you have to do to save a buck. But apparently, as an Officer, I would be so upset by the sight of a senior NCM eating near me that they have cordoned off the eating area into two sections. They even put in place theselittle fabric walls as dividers so I don't have to gaze upon such unsightly beings as senior NCMs.  :sarcasm: :sarcasm:

Anyone else this as taking the segregation of messes a little too far? It's not even a drinking mess, just a cafeteria for cripes sake! I'd much rather shoot the shit with some of the crusty old chiefs and hear their war stories over dinner then sit in silence with some of the weird and anti social or ultra elitist officers who show up.

That barrier also protects those old Chiefs from the company of "some of the weird and anti social or ultra elitist officers who show up." The Chiefs may not be as ready to consider that the potential for your gracious company makes up for the added possibility of the company of some of your peers. Conversely, it also protects you from being joined by a bitter NCO who sees you at dinner as a captive audience for his chosen points of discussion. Keep in mind, that there and good and bad options on that path of wide open access.

Hmm... never thought about it from the other side.

Mind blown! I think I just suffered some professional development!