• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Photography in the Armed Forces

B

b.scheller

Hey!
I'm interested in serving in the CF, but I would like to transform my hobby into a full time job. I'm a amature photographer, and I love photography in general. Is there any way I could become a professional photographer in the Canadian Forces but still be part of the Canadian Army rather then a civilian who tags along? How would I go about getting into that program?

Thank you!
b.scheller

There is a position in the Military through the Air Force called Imagry Tech. The job is to basically photograph and video tape everything in the Military. To get in you just have to apply at a recruitment center and see what happens. Just to warn you though there are very few open positions and they are hard to get. But there is no harm in trying.

thanks...is there a portfolio of some kind that I would have to show to prove that I can take photographs...

I'm telling missmolsonindy on you for that ;D

It is nice though isn't it! :eek:

Slim

Here is what the www.recruiting.forces.gc.ca site has to say about imagery techs:

Imagery Technicians (IMAGE TECHs) are trained to provide imagery for all elements (Sea, Land and Air) of the Canadian Forces. Responsibilities include the operation of still and video cameras (both conventional and digital); the making of prints, video and multi-media productions; quality control of products; photo finishing in the photo laboratory; and maintenance of occupation-related equipment.

Provide imaging services in support of military operations, public affairs and engineering activities, and document the important events in the life and times of the Canadian Forces

Operate video and still imagery equipment

Process film and produce prints

Maintain an imagery database

Perform preventive and corrective maintenance on imaging equipment