• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Our own forum!

Inch

Army.ca Veteran
Inactive
Reaction score
BZ Mike!

It nearly brought a tear to my eye when upon arriving home after 3 hours in the simulator, I log onto my favourite web site and I'll be jiggered, there's an Air Force forum complete with the Air Command motto "Sic Itur Ad Astra" which for those that don't know, translates to "Such is the pathway to the stars"

Inch said:
BZ Mike!

It nearly brought a tear to my eye when upon arriving home after 3 hours in the simulator, I log onto my favourite web site and I'll be jiggered, there's an Air Force forum complete with the Air Command motto "Sic Itur Ad Astra" which for those that don't know, translates to "Such is the pathway to the stars"

I'm new to the AF but my hatbadge says "per ardua ad astra".....trough adversity, the stars

Am i missing something ?

From Amo, Amas, Amat and More; How to Use Latin to Your Own Advantage and to the Astonishment of Others, by Eugene Ehrlich:

sic itur ad astra

seek IH-tuur ahd AH-strah

this is the path to immortality
Literally: "thus one goes to the stars"

per ardua ad astra

pehr AHR-doo-ah ahd AH-strah

through difficulty to the stars

Its from when you air force types pass out after one beer (.5%) and just see stars :D

aesop081 said:
I'm new to the AF but my hatbadge says "per ardua ad astra".....trough adversity, the stars

Am i missing something ?

Per Ardua Ad Astra was the RCAF's motto and is still the motto found on your hat badge. Sic Itur Ad Astra was the motto of the RCAF's predecessor, the CAF. I'm not exactly sure when Air Command "readopted" the motto, but to my knowledge, we use them both now. Maybe Sam69 could provide a little more insight.

M.O.
The Air Force website has the meaning that I typed, I'm beginning to think that no one knows latin at all!
http://www.airforce.forces.gc.ca/traddocs/tradk_e.asp