• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Ordered to take a DDC and give a safety talk to my troops

dogger1936

Inactive
Reaction score
Honestly folks I've been brewing over this one for a few months now and decided  Iwould post just as a way to direct anger hopefully in a productive way.

During the winter driving out west on military duty my civilian rented DND vehicle hit black ice and I cracked that little black piece off the bumper. Honestly no one would have even noticed, yet I did what was right and required and filled out the accident report and got witness statements from my co driver.  Iwas doing 60 under the speed limit to match the weather conditions and IMHO drove in a very defensive manner only edging into a snowbank at a slow speed once I hit this black ice.

I get a email from base transport telling me I must give a 10 minute speech to my troops about matching speeds to conditions and must attend a DDC.

Is there standing rules on this ? I.E Member must speak on what base traffic decides is the cause and a DDC if any accident is reported? If so can someone provide documentation.

Personally I think it's a bit much, and as far as the 10 minute safety speech to my subordinates.....lets say it's "done". That just seemed like a ignorant thing someone threw in.

As well when a decision is made on the accident by base safety why do they not inform the member of the results?

I would personally be more torqued about having to take DDC again then having to give a presentation on driving for conditions.  But, then again, I come from an aviation community where we did that whenever we had a flight safety incident.

Did they tell you how you had to give the speech?  Did they tell you that you were found to be at fault?  Did they say it was because you were speeding?  None of this seems to be the case, based on you post.