• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Ontario Harmonized Tax

zipperhead_cop

Army.ca Veteran
Inactive
Reaction score
Apologies if this is elsewhere.  If you use the word "tax" in the search engine, you get quite the plethora of results  :p

I am absolutely the first person to admit that I have little or no training/experience in things economic.  I will also be the first to be skeptical of anything I see show up in my email inbox that appears to be a "public service announcement".  However, this email gave me pause due to its potential scope and I have not hear anything about it thus far:

Subject: Ontario 's New 13% Harmonized Sales Tax - What It Will Mean To You

Hello. Next summer (2010) the Ontario Government is set to put into force its new harmonized GST/PST sales tax which will apply a 13% sales tax to everything we purchase.

Things That Were Not Subject To The Current 8% PST Will Be Now Taxed As a result, things that were not previously taxed under the current Ontario Provincial Sales Tax (PST) will be taxed at 8%.

The new 13% tax will therefore apply to things like your electric bill, your gas bill, your water bill, condominium fees, insurance premiums, and every other good and service you purchase. There are almost no exemptions. The current Ontario PST tax does not apply to services, nor does it apply to the purchase of certain goods. The new 13% tax will therefore extend the old 8% PST tax rate to the purchase of all goods and all services.

The New 13% Tax Will Apply To The Puchase of All New Homes. The new harmonized GST/PST will also apply to all purchases of all new homes. If a person were to purchase a new $1 million dollar home in Toronto , they would have to pay roughly $200,000 in taxes as a result of the Ontario land transfer tax, the new city of toronto land transfer tax, and the new harmonized 13% GST/PST.