• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

On Being DS

Roy Harding

Army.ca Veteran
Inactive
Reaction score
Mr. Bobbitt recently asked me to become assimilated into The Borg Directing Staff here at Milnet.ca.  This request came as a surprise to me, as I had never expressed a desire to him or anyone else to do so.  I protested, pointing out why I would not be a good candidate for the position.  Mr. Bobbitt must be getting desperate for Staff, as he brushed aside my protestations and proceeded with the assimilation.

As some of you may know, I’ve been hanging around here for a couple of years (since 15 Mar 05, according to my profile), and became a Milnet.ca subscriber shortly after that.  In those two and a half years, I’ve had run-ins with the DS, and have appealed some of their decisions to Mr. Bobbitt.  I don’t recall that I have ascended the Warning Ladder – but I may have (I could find out, but I’m not that curious).  I have been PO’d and left in a huff (more than once) – only to come back. 

Why’d I come back?  Although retired from the CF now, I remain keenly interested in all things CF, and this board is the best resource out there for keeping in touch with todays (and tomorrow’s and yesterday’s) soldiers, sailors, and airmen.  I’ve always felt that the reason for this is the firm direction given by Mr. Bobbitt in the Guidelines, and the diligence in enforcing that direction by the DS.  I am a participant on other Internet Forums (woodworking) and find that the one or two I always come back to are set up in a very similar manner – there are clear expectations of the users, and those expectations are enforced by the Mods.  This leads to a civil and comfortable cyber-place for everybody – where disagreements can be discussed without personal insult, ideas can be explored intelligently, and people of like mind can just share their experiences or corny jokes.