• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

My AVOTP exprience

GreenMarine

Inactive
Reaction score
Just thought I would put this out, perhaps others can relate maybe some will post and relate with me, critic, etc.

Maybe my Story can inspire others in there journey through occupational Tranferes.

Brief History: I've been a supply Tech since 2002, and since summer 2012 I've been throwing the idea of getting out of supply.
After research and pondering, August 2013 I'll place my memo for AVOTP to Steward.

Reception was mixed at all lvls of my CoC, knowing my main goal is to return to the west coast, I've had the East Coast mentioned to me alot. My answer has been along the line of 50% chance is best chance available to me while in Uniform.

Anyways moving on and bringin after a month since submitting my memo, I got called over to my units Chief Clerk so I can book my OT medical, I got to see some of the comments, my supervisor Supports the OT but my next two boss's dont. My piece of mind is that the CO hasn't signed off and there's some hoops to jump throught that may secure his approval.

I'd not worry as much about what your CofC thinks as what the PSO does.  Units and Career Managers have a vested interest in retaining their TES people and therefore are not as likely to be unbiased in their "assessment" of your suitability for OT.  Don't take it (or react to it) personally.  Part of the game.  The CO gets to make a recommendation, not the decision (Selection Boards).

- make sure you meet the pre-req's IAW Reg Frce NCM OT policy (CFAO 11-12) and whatever specifics are detailed in the AVOTP message, etc for your MOC.  BPSO will determine if you meet CFAT requirements, etc.