• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Moderator Introduction

Danjanou

Army.ca Fixture
Inactive
Reaction score
Having taken over the responsibilities of moderator for this forum a short time ago, I thought it best to introduce myself here. I’m a former soldier who left (regretfully) in 1993 for health reasons after some 17 years of service.

I supplement my income by working as a freelance writer, mainly travel, adventure, and humour articles but the occasional book and movie review as well. That incidentally is how I ended up here. Shortly after stumbling across this site, I noticed that Mike had put out the call for book and later movie reviews.

I had a large collection of both from some work I had done for a consumer web site I regularly contribute to. Naturally I offered them to Mike, and being desperate for material he accepted them. I’m not quite sure how I then ended up being moderator, but lets just put it down to his powers of persuasion. Any old soldier is aware of the maxim “never volunteer for anything,” well Mike seems to know his way around that.

My first order of business in this forum will be to get in and edit the reviews of mine that Mike has already posted. As I said they were written for another site, and many contain in jokes and references to that site which may seem out of place. After that I’ll continue to add several more reviews that Mike never got around to now that he’s found a willing lackey, including my take on Bernard Cornwell’s Sharpe series.

Time permitting (like everyone else I do have a life outside of cyber-space, and my wife seems to keep coming up with little chores around the place), I’d like to add a few new reviews. There are quite a few books and movies that I’ve been meaning to write about, and hopefully will finally get around to it.