• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Mental health training for CF primary care providers

flatlander13

Inactive
Reaction score
In light of tragic recent events and hearing about the limitation in available resources, I'm curious to know what, if any, training is given to primary health care practitioners to deal with mental health concerns specific to the CF (ie. NO, PhO, PTO, MO, DO, etc.) ? As a soon-to-be professional, I wonder if there are resources/training in place so that individuals having difficulties might be identified before they fall through the cracks? Unfortunately, I suspect my university education will not prepare me to care for all aspects of a member's health...  :yellow:

Learn about trauma, and how the human handles it.

After that it is OJT, and absorb, and learn, so that the next person gains from your knowledge.

dileas

tess

flatlander13 said:
In light of tragic recent events and hearing about the limitation in available resources, I'm curious to know what, if any, training is given to primary health care practitioners to deal with mental health concerns specific to the CF (ie. NO, PhO, PTO, MO, DO, etc.) ? As a soon-to-be professional, I wonder if there are resources/training in place so that individuals having difficulties might be identified before they fall through the cracks? Unfortunately, I suspect my university education will not prepare me to care for all aspects of a member's health...  :yellow:
When you say you are a soon-to-be professional, what do you mean? 

In answer to your question, yes,  primary care practitioners who deal with mental health on a regular basis are trained within their respective scopes of practice e.g. Medical Officers, Nursing Officers, Physician Assistant. Dental Officers and Physiotherapy Officers - no.