• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Meet the woman leading Canada’s war on ISIL

daftandbarmy

Army.ca Dinosaur
Reaction score
Well done that General!

Meet the woman leading Canada’s war on ISIL

I am a girl, but first and foremost I am a senior officer of the Canadian Armed Forces,” is Brig. Gen. Lise Bourgon’s good-natured response when asked about being the first woman to have ever commanded a Canadian combat mission.

“I am proud to have been chosen, but more as an airman and a soldier than as a woman. If it is another first for women, good.”

The diminutive 45-year-old RCAF helicopter pilot, wife and mother of two has spent the past half year in the Kuwaiti desert leading Canada’s combat contribution to the air war against ISIL in Iraq and Syria. It is a job where life-and-death decisions must be made every day.

Bourgon gives orders to about 550 men and women who use spy planes to gather intelligence about potential ISIL targets. That information and other data provided by coalition partners is used to decide where and when to drop missiles and bombs on ISIL forces and their equipment.

During the first face-to-face interview that she has given in the Middle East, she said that she was “responsible for the aircraft in theatre, where they go and the conduct of operations.”

The Canadian air boss is right now mostly overseeing air strikes in support of a recently launched counter-offensive by Iraqi security forces to retake the strategically important towns of Baiji and Ramadi from Islamic radicals.

Bourgon was among the first generation of women pilots after that military trade was opened to them by the Canadian Forces in the 1980s. She was the first female pilot to command a squadron, and the first to be promoted to lieutenant colonel, colonel and general.