• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Marine Electrician

Cleric515

Inactive
Reaction score
Hello to everyone, I thought I would make an account since I've been cruising the forums for a couple months now. Basically my question is to anyone whose gone through the "prior learning assessment" I believe is what it's called. Just to give some info about myself, I graduated in June 2008 with a dual diploma in both Electrical/Electronic Technology and after a year of deciding what I wanted in a career I then decided to make an application for the Navy. I sent my papers in August 2009. I received a call in September stating whether I would be available for an interview and I of course said yes. They waived my aptitude test for me as I guess my post secondary education showed that I have some intellect, lol. So in October I went for my interview and medical all in one day. Right after the interview I was told that I was eligible for the position and he gave me a decision as to whether I would want to proceed with the prior learning assessment and I of course agreed to do that as I didn't want to have to repeat any of my schooling again. I believe the first week of November my medical came back stating that I was fit for the position but all that I'm waiting on is the status of what they're doing with my education.

I had to give a detailed course outline for all of my courses so I assume that they're going through that and seeing what it is equivalent to on their side. If anything I'm wondering how long this process should take as I'm hoping to receive "the call" in December and be on my way in January as I have refused all other job offers as this is truly my dream job.