• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Looking to interview veterans of conflict in former Yugoslavia

tysonlowrie

Inactive
Reaction score
Hello everybody,

I hope I'm posting this to the right section; as you can all see, I'm new here. I'm a masters student in history at Concordia University, in Montreal, and I'm hoping to interview some veterans of the conflict(s) in the former Yugoslavia as part of a research project.

Essentially what I'm trying to learn about is less the overt combat part of the operations there, but more of what the interaction was like between Canadian/UN forces in the region with the local inhabitants. What kind of impact did UN/Canadian soldiers on the local communities. Was there much contact, was there any economic exchange, friendships made, lasting ties etc. The idea is to essentially to look at the conflict and military deployment outside of strictly military terms, and look at the broader effects that it may (or for all I know, may not have had.) I've love to hear any of your stories.

I'm looking more towards Bosnia, as that is where so many Canadians were stationed/operated, but given that borders were (and to an extent still are) so murky back then, I'd be happy to hear about any of your experiences there. I'd be willing to either correspond by e-mail, or I could call you at your convenience and have a 20-30 minute chat on the phone. Alternatively, if any of you are in Montreal, I'd be happy to interview you in person, or if any of you are in Ottawa, I should be there a few days next week.