• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

LOA letter for employer

Maxadia

Inactive
Reaction score
My current supervisor (school principal) has asked me to submit a request for leave in order to complete officer training.  The fortunate part is, he would like me to submit reasons supporting his wish to have me continue to be paid for the two weeks leave that I will need.  I am a high school teacher, and the dates that I need leave for would mean that I would only miss the last few days of classes plus our exam period (which consists mainly of exam supervision, marking, prep work for next year - very little job coverage needed).

Is there anyone out there who has previously submitted a request of this type?  I was thinking of taking the line that this will be a huge amount of professional development in the area of leadership that will be provided to them, at no charge to the school board, as I would normally be paid to the end of the school year as well. 

Any tips in this area would be greatly appreciated.  I am one of the luck ones to have an employer who will allow the time off for training, so I'd like to get this right and set things up for success in the future.

Thanks.

RDJP said:
My current supervisor (school principal) has asked me to submit a request for leave in order to complete officer training. 

This may help.

http://www.cflc.forces.gc.ca/ees-pae/rr/rus-pau/tlr-elr/lr-eng.asp

Letters from Reservists

Employee Request for Leave for a Course

[DND or Unit Letterhead]
[File Number]
[Employer or supervisor name]
[Address]
[Date]

Dear []:

As you may be aware, in addition to being employed with [company or organization name], I am also a member of the Reserve Force, serving with [unit name] in [community].