• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Joining the army as an NCO with an associate degree

ToughLuckJohn

Inactive
Reaction score
So I know this question has been around more than once but my situation is a little different so I want to make my own topic about it.

I'm starting my BMQ in 4 days (im 24 yo) and only tonight I've started reflecting on whether or not I should really go forward with this; I've completed an associate degree in electronics prior to my enrollment as an NCO (it's a 4 Years contract). The trade I am enrolling in is in the field of electronics so I thought this would benefit me given I have an associate in that field.

What I plan to do is do a few years as an NCO, and then request to complete another 2 years of paid study in Electronics so I can get a Bachelor degree in Electronics Engineering and then hope to be recommended as an officer, my main question being, will I only be able to complete my bachelor ONCE my contract ends? If so, what good will these 4 years do for me in the long run other then gain respect because I was an NCO prior.

If anyone could give me some insight it would be greatly appreciated. Thank you

Well, first of all congratulations. I remember my recruit course from a few years ago. Thanks for joining and I hope you have a long career.

To answer your question though you will need to engage your chain of command at some point. There are a few subject matter experts (SME) on this site that can assist you.

Have a good one. 👍

I guess you're right, just a quick question that shouldn't be so confusing, I know on the american army if you join the army with an associate you start as an E-3 instead of an E-1 private, is this similar for Canada? Do I still start off at the bottom even with an associate? Thank you

ToughLuckJohn said: