• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

I've got a dying parent and don't know what to do

seanthorne

Inactive
Reaction score
Hi guys, this is my first post here and it's unfortunate that it's under these circumstances.

I'm a reservist and I was just enrolled in February, I'm registered for a summer BMQ in May and I've been super excited to start my training.

Yesterday, though, I got a phone call that my dad was diagnosed with advanced lung cancer and has weeks to live. I'm a university student in BC and am just figuring out all my logistical questions with deferring my final exams to go home sooner but being new to the army reserve it's a little less straightforward.

I obviously want to be home for the last few days/weeks, but being registered for BMQ and having a number of parade nights left before the end of the training year I'm not sure what to do. I was only told who my Detachment Commander was literally last week and I want to be as little of a pain in the *** as possible trying to go home to Ontario early and change the BMQ I'm registered for.

Basically, I'm just wondering what's the proper way to ask to be taken off the registration for BMQ and to be allowed to miss the last few parade nights while still being relatively professional about it. Do I go through my DC or someone else? And how do I still make it clear that the army reserve is still something I'm fully committed to and that I have the fullest intentions of picking up the next part-time BMQ when the next school year rolls around? I want to be fully aware of exactly what I have to do from here to be as non-disruptive as possible for everyone else.

Sorry if some of this is obvious or if this has been answered before, but all of this, both the army and all of this with my dad, are new to me.

Thanks guys, any information is something I'd really appreciate.