• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Is Canadian Military pay good? Do civilian workers earn more in geenral?

Reaction score
I am in the recruiting pipeline at the moment but recently I have been wondering if joining the military is a solid financial choice. I applied as a Direct Entry, I have a degree in Computer Science but it took me the whole degree to realize that I have little to no interest in working in the tech industry. Even though tech jobs pay more I made the decision to join the military because it seems like a good fit for me.

Looking at officer pay, it seems like they start at a normal amount and scale up decently but is the money good enough? Will I be able to live in a decent house, drive a Lexus and buy avocados 7 to 10 years from now?

I am in the recruiting pipeline at the moment but recently I have been wondering if joining the military is a solid financial choice. I applied as a Direct Entry, I have a degree in Computer Science but it took me the whole degree to realize that I have little to no interest in working in the tech industry. Even though tech jobs pay more I made the decision to join the military because it seems like a good fit for me.

Looking at officer pay, it seems like they start at a normal amount and scale up decently but is the money good enough? Will I be able to live in a decent house, drive a Lexus and buy avocados 7 to 10 years from now?

Have a look at the pay scales and then you can tell us:

How long does it take to go from Officer Cadet to Captain? How about Captain to Major? 4 years to reach captain and then Major is another 4 years?
So in terms of how long it takes to get promoted up the ranks, that's something that is unique to each individual.

Some of it will depend on which trade you go into, and the vacancies that are open for each rank.