• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Heller Anti-Tank Weapon

Petrus,

We had the Heller issued to us in 4 CIBG at the time as an operational weapon. It was 3.2-inch calibre but I cannot recall any other details. By the way, its name, Heller, was apparently because "it was a heller a weapon."

I was a liaison officer in HQ 4 CIBG for about eighteen months (the brigades arms units filled these posts on a rotational basis) in the mid-sixties and handled operational equipment. We started replacing the Heller with the Carl Gustav and the M72 circa 1966-1967.

The Heller was in service in 4 CMBG. I do not know of any problems
with the weapon itself however the 9inch rangefinder sight was far too
delicate for the rough and tumble of infantry work and they spent a
large amount of their lives on the "waiting labour" shelf at the WKSP.
after that they moved to the "waiting parts"shelf as the supply system
had not forseen the high numbers of unserviceabilities.
This may have had something to do with their relative short service
life.
                        Regards

I have been meaning to bring some info for quite some times now but been to busy. I have received lots of reports and thousand of pages that talk about the Heller, one of which is titled "Final Report - 100mm Heller Anti-Tank Weapon System". That's right, "100mm!!!". There is currently a range clearance here in Borden and they hav found thousands of rocket motors, matter of fact check out the picture below as we have displays of both the 3.2" and the 100mm.
I have so much information that I don't know where to start, so here is some stuff:
1 - The 3.2" was known as the Heller Stage "A" and the 100mm the Heller Stage "B"
2 - The roscket was similar in principle to the HAMMER, a German weapon reported to be in the early stage of development in 1945