• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Helitack summer work vs Army employment

mondo

Inactive
Reaction score
Hello everyone in the forums,

Was wondering with the varying backgrounds you all bring to the forums, has anyone done Helitack Firefighting for summer employment in years past? I am pondering if I should accept my contract for this, or take my Class B contract that the army wants to give me for summer employment in between semesters at college. My degree I'm working towards is in Criminology, and I want to get into either the civi side or army side of law enforcement (ie Military Police Officer / RCMP) If anyone has a little insight on what to expect for a summer of work with the army or helitack i would be GREATLY appreciate it.

thanks in advice
:cdn:
mondo

error, was meant to be in the off topic forum but ended up here :S

I'm a firefighter and former reservist, can't help you though. Both are good ways to spend a summer. The thing is, what do YOU want to do? If one wanted a career in the CF I'd think that their summer would be better spent training with the military, no?

Or, if you plan to be a smokejumper or forest tech in the future then a summer with Helitack or Rappattack wouldn't hurt either.

Typically Helitack and Rappattack take nothing but the best and hiring procedures vary from province to province.

Good luck.

Also, B Class employment isn't written in stone nor are courses.  They may cancel any of these at any time, even if you show up at another base for it with your route letter in hand.  It's happened, just a heads up.

scott1nsh said:
I'm a firefighter and former reservist, can't help you though. Both are good ways to spend a summer. The thing is, what do YOU want to do? If one wanted a career in the CF I'd think that their summer would be better spent training with the military, no?