• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Getting started

Stargazer

Inactive
Reaction score
Hi, I'm currently a university student and I would really like to be a helicopter pilot. I'm in my application process, to be a human resource clerk to get the feel of it and to see if the military is for me.. First off, I have no experience whatsoever. I know they take the best of the best. My question is, where do I start? What should I do..? I'm still young so its not too late..
and by the way, I'm a woman...are my chances of getting in slimmer?

Thanks

In addition to what my good friend said in his customarily direct manner, there is a whole bouquet of threads regarding almost every aspect of flying and pilot training and the recruiting system on the site.

These can be turned up using the Search Function.

Start reading, and ask any questions for which you cannot find answers therein. You'll probably find answers to questions that you hadn't even thought of yet.

What is your approximate geographical location?

welll i did visit a recruiting center, they gave me info but the way they were saying its like if they were implying its impossible for me to get in : not that many spots, very hard to get in, need amazing grades, amazing background, i would need experience if i want to get in .. what i would like to hear, from people that are currently piloting for the cf or already did, is what you would recommend me doing to get experience or to put chances on my side and make myself a competitve candidate.. .. and yes im well aware we're in 2009 thank you.

Stargazer, 438 Sqn in a reserve squadron.  I would suggest you go to the recruiting center at:

1420 Saint-Catherine Street W.
Montreal, QC
H3G 1R3
phone: 514-390-4999

There is nothing impossible.  If you don't try, you'll never know.  But you have to go to the right place to start with ;)

Good Luck