• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Dropping out of university to pursue military career.

Gurshan Multani

Inactive
Reaction score
Finishing my 1st year of engineering and doing fairly well with a 3.1 GPA. However, over the year, I've learned that I can't see myself being an engineer my whole life. I need something more engaging (something that energizes me). I want a career that is more challenging and involved, something that isn't an office job.

I've been thinking to become a Port Inspection Diver in the RCN. After completing four years of service (minimum req) I wish to become a SAR Tech in the Royal Canadian Air Force. Moreover, all trades I am interested in are non commissioned trades where I do not need a degree. For this reason, I feel I am wasting my time and money on a degree I wont use until maybe after my military career.

Is this a good idea? I've never liked school from the start, although I've always done good in school. I remember faking being sick just to avoid going to school during early grade school. Being from an asian household it has been an expectation that I complete higher education, but I hate my current lifestyle.

PID is a reserve only trade, so you won't be doing "four years of service" per se. Clearance Diver is the reg force counterpart, I'm assuming you want to go in full time. I would advise doing as much research on the two different components (reg or res) as possible. Walk before you run, you won't become a diver or a Sar tech immediately. These trades have some intense selection camps that weed out even the best of folks in some cases .

The CAF is a great career, I wish you the best, I would say though, if you plan on doing a full 25 years , pace yourself and your ambitions and keep your fitness and readiness where it needs to be.

Best wishes.