• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Commercial Pilot Licence ( CPL )

slowstrummer

Inactive
Reaction score
I am studying for my commercial pilots license here in Montreal.  I am curious ... (not that I want to become a pilot in the Air Force), but upon completion of the schooling and obtention of the commercial license, will the DND recognise or accord an officer ranking if I join the CAF?

Thanks!

Stacy

A CPL would have no effect on joining the CF whatsoever, if you were not joining as a pilot.

So many problems with your question but I'm gonna go easy on you.

You have to go through the whole application/recruiting process to be accepted into the Canadian Forces as an Officer or NCM for that matter.  To be commissioned as an officer in the CF you are supposed to have a degree (any) and finish basic training and voila you are an officer!  To be an operationally trained officer is a different story though, it will take a few years after the recruiting center.  As far as a Commercial Pilots license- it would count on your application as something that makes you more attractive if your applying for a position that it applies...say Pilot.  It would be comparable to say being in Air Cadets or being a Captain of your little league baseball team.  The hours that you acquired in the civilian world may or may not help you in the CAF as has been discussed on this forum ad nauseum.  However some commercial licenses from recognized schools will help you skip one of the pilot training phases which is nice. 

The reason I say that I could not join as a pilot is because I am too old according to the Recruiting centre.  They told me to choose something else, that an application to become a pilot would be turned down most likely.  Hell I would love to be a pilot, but they are after the younger lads. 

Thanks

Stacy