• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

cerebral palsy and the armed forces

froggyt1

Inactive
Reaction score
First off I am new to this fourm. Now I am going to get right to the point, I am 20 years old and have cerebral palsy it is spastic Hemiplegia (affects two limbs).

I am intrested as to weather or not I can even apply for the CF. Some Background info:

cerebral palsy affects individuals differently and mine is very mild, I have full ROM in all my limbs and greater then adv ROM in my left leg (which is probably the most severly affected limb. ps. I don't really know what better than adv is but my family doctor says it is). In all honesty my cerebral palsy is so minute that I cannot apply for disibility bursuries and scholarships in relation to cerebral palsy.

Now my biggest issue aside from my cerebral palasy is overuse injuries. When I was in high school I weighed 290 pounds (today I am down to 140 pounds sidenote: I am male) and was fat but i liked to partake in some sports I shouldn't have at the time. i.e. I wrestled I high school and did marathon running, the combination of the two gave me sever patteler maltracking which required an osteotomy to fix. I am now recovering form that osteotomy and the specalist says if the reabilation goes as planed I should be back to doing normal activites in a few months (I had my surgury in august 2010) and the hardwar in my leg will be removed within 18 months.

Anyways I am not planning I joining for quite some time as I am currently taking a HBA in Political Studies, and if a career in law enforcment/the military does not work out I would like to persue a career in academia.

I have 20/20 vision and right now I was looking into a career in the Military Police.