• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Bad habits developed by civilian pilots

trampbike

Inactive
Reaction score
Hi,
I'm an aspiring RCAF pilot, currently at a civilian university, finishing my degree through the ROTP program. I have a PPL with a night rating and spend most of my money (every penny that's left once rent and food is paid...) on flying. I mostly fly an old tailwheel (Aeronca Champ) and a Grumman AA1 out of a small strip on the south shore of Montreal. Most of my flying time involves XC flying with only a compass and VNC charts for navigation and a lot of practise maneuvers (slow flights, steep turns, short field landings, stalls, engine failures, tight circuits).

I know civilian flying is very different from military flying. What are the things I should really be aware of? What kind of habits should I try to break down and what kind of skills should I try to developp?

Thanks!

One of the first things to work on is being exact on the numbers.  If you want to fly at 1300 ASL, for example, then fly at 1300.  Not 1400, not 1250. Try to be as exact as possible.  If you are cruising at 90, challenge yourself to hold 90, not 95 or even 87.

This is one of the biggest things the instructors harped on throughout training.  The benefit of being able to fly the numbers so well is that, when it comes time to do nav and IF, then your timings will make calculating things like fuel burn and time on target that much easier.

Firstly, want it enough. Motivation is a huge factor.

Want it enough that you will work harder than you ever have before, and harder than you thought possible. There is a lot of work involved, and a very high standard is expected by your instructors.

As high as the standard expected of you by your instructors is, the standard that you expect of yourself should be higher, and you should drive yourself to exceed both.